2011/2012 Officer Candidates

The semester is almost over and that means it’s time to elect officers for the next couple of semesters. Below you’ll find a list of who is running with a short message from them about why they think they would make good officers. If you’d like your name added to this list, it’s not too late! Just email me at behrlich[at]purdue.edu with your name, positions you want to run for, year in school, and why you think you’d be good for the positions you are running for. Without further ado, here are your candidates:

Nick SpegalPresident, Secretary

I’ll be around for another two years or more and I’ve been involved with the group for at least as long, which makes me familiar with the regular events.

Aside from the strictly practical… In terms of fluffy (but true!) platitudes: I love this group. I love what the group stands for and what it does. And I love the people in it. I definitely don’t mind asking for input as a general rule, and would very much use that fact if elected.

I often have the lead in group projects… Even when I don’t try for it. I make it a point to take initiative when everyone is set on letting someone else do so. I’ve taught at different levels and in several different situations, all of which were pretty successful. When I worked in retail, I was a fairly successful salesman, owed mostly to the fact I’m good at thinking on my feet in conversation.

But I think that’s enough horn-tooting. I look forward to the election!

Kacey PastorePresident, Secretary

Year: Senior [not graduating till May ’13]

I’ve been running the website this year, and want to pursue a more active role in the club. I have a lot of ideas/goals for next year:
-Create some new positions to even out to workload for officers
-Advertising: We really need to work on getting our name out there
-T-shirts: I’ve been here for 3 years, and don’t have one.
-Speakers: Jen, and possibly PZ Myers
-Events:

  • Free Hugs and Kisses
  • Send an Atheist to Church
  • Ask an Atheist
  • Talk Like a Pirate Day
  • Stone a Heathen
  • Darwin Day Evolution Sale

Ben ShuttTreasurer

Year: 9th Semester [May ’13 graduation]

I am running for treasurer, because I would like to be more involved in the Non-Theists. I have had experience holding leadership positions. I am good with numbers, and know how to use excel, so I can keep track of the finances of the club.

Elections will be held at our last biweekly meeting: 6:30pm PHYS 203 on Wednesday, April 27th

Leave a Reply

